Fall athletes recognized at Ridgewood board meeting

| November 19, 2019

WEST LAFAYETTE – The Ridgewood Local School Board met in regular session on Nov. 15, in the Ridgewood High School Media Center.

Superintendent Mike Masloski updated the board on the radio tower used for bus communications in the district. The current location will continue to be in service for the district after a change of ownership of the land.  An additional tower will be located in the Bakersville area in the future.

Matt Colvin, athletic director gave the board an update for all fall sports. The following students and coaches were recognized for their outstanding performance:

  • Cross Country: Trevor Hawkins – Eastern District Cross Country All Star Team, Academic All East District, First Team IVC and Regional Qualifier; Alana Shroyer – Honorable Mention IVC
  • Girls Soccer: First year hosting and winning the first round tournament game; team honors for receiving the All-State Team Academic Award with a 3.57 GPA; Hailey Davis –  East District Honorable Mention; Ally Blevens – East District Honorable Mention; Anna Trimmer – East District Second Team; Adrianna Flores – East District Second Team; Mickenzie Spangler – East District First Team
  • Boys Golf: Trey Stoffer – First Team IVC; District Qualifier, First Team East District, Academic All Ohio; Cody Ramsey – Honorable Mention IVC
  • Girls Golf: Lexi Zimmer – First Team IVC, District Qualifier, First Team East District; Ally Dodson – Honorable Mention IVC
  • Volleyball: IVC Runner-up; Aleeah Cabot – First Team IVC, First Team District 5 Coaches,  All Star Game Participant; Jaelyn McGee – Second Team IVC, Second Team District 5 Coaches, All Star Game Participant; Carly Griffith – Second Team District 5 Coaches; Madisyn Colvin – Honorable Mention IVC, First Team District 5 Coaches; Hannah Maust –  Honorable Mention District 5 Coaches
  • Football: Regular season 10-0, IVC Champions, fourth playoff appearance in five years; third year hosting first round playoff game; Koleten Smith – First Team IVC; Kaden Smith – First Team IVC, Defensive Back of the Year, Isaiah Lamneck – First Team IVC; Zack Prater – First Team IVC; John Evin – First Team IVC; Gabe Tingle – First Team IVC, IVC Player of the Year; Chase Minet – Second Team IVC; Conner Kunze – Second Team IVC; Bryce Prater – Second Team IVC; J. J. Durr – Honorable Mention IVC; and Coach John Slusser – Co-Coach of the Year.

Commendations were given to the Ridgewood Marching Generals for receiving a superior rating at state competition. This is the 30th year the Marching Generals have received this outstanding rating at state competition. John Lindig is the band director.

RLSD was recognized by the STRS as one of only 37 school districts for the excellent performance in completing estimated annual payroll for FY 20 accurately and timely by Karen Hicks, payroll manager.

Congratulations to Kim Kehl for being named MVESC Exemplary Educator of the Year.

The board approved the following recommendations by Superintendent Masloski:

  • Volunteers for the 2019-2020 School year: Greg Lower, Scott Bardall, and Kirby Shivers – RHS Girls Basketball Coaches; Jack Lenhoff RHS Wrestling Coach; Bill Angle – RMS Wrestling Coach; Troy Dolick and Ryan Gress – Baseball Coaches; and Margaret Darr – RES Classroom.
  • The following supplemental contracts were awarded: Darrell Ball – Girls JV Basketball Coach; and RHS Girls Track; Denny Varian Eighth Grade Girls Basketball Coach; Kasey Bethel – RHS Asst. Wrestling Coach; Jason Prater – RMS Boys Track; John Slusser – RHS Boys Track; Jamie McCrea and Dan Smith RHS Asst. Track; Maria Prater – RMS Girls Track Coach; Chad Lahna – Head Baseball Coach; Travis Simmons – Baseball Assistant; and Dusty Shroyer – JV/Asst. Baseball Coach

The next regular board of education meeting will be held Friday, Dec. 20, at 7 a.m. at Ridgewood Middle School.

Category: Education

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.