Householder names members to OHIO 2020

| April 6, 2020

Speaker Larry Householder today named 24 legislators to the bipartisan task force that will study ways the Ohio House can lay the foundation for economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic.

The bipartisan group is geographically diverse, with members representing urban, suburban and rural communities from throughout Ohio.

Rep. Paul Zeltwanger (R-Mason) will chair OHIO 2020 with Rep. Terrence Upchurch (D-Cleveland) serving as vice chairman.

Speaker Householder (R-Glenford) said that as the critical work of doctors, nurses, first responders and public health leaders continues in an effort to keep Ohioans safe and healthy, it’s equally important to focus on planning Ohio’s economic recovery. “Prior to COVID-19 coming to our shores, our nation was experiencing perhaps the best economic time in its history,” Householder said. “The policies that needed to be put in place have flattened two curves, one regarding the spread of the virus, the other regarding our economy. Ohio needs to get healthy and back to work as soon as possible,” according to Speaker Householder.

“The COVID-19 pandemic has impacted all aspects of our lives, including the economic well-being and future of Ohio families and businesses. What are the barriers to economic recovery? How do we help Ohio’s families and employers recover and emerge stronger than before? This is a critical time for Ohio’s future. I believe we can rebound from this challenge in a better position than anyone in the nation if we plan ahead and implement well.”

Householder said the work of OHIO 2020 is in addition to the continuing work of lawmakers on a wide range of issues.

The following members of the Ohio House of Representatives have been named to the Ohio House 2020 Economic Recovery Task Force:

Chairman Paul Zeltwanger (R-Mason), Vice Chairman Terrence Upchurch (D-Cleveland), Brian Baldridge (R-Winchester), Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Township), Jack Cera (D-Bellaire), Jon Cross (R-Kenton), Jay Edwards (R-Nelsonville), Tavia Galonski (D-Akron), Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake), Brett Hillyer (R-Uhrichsville), Adam Holmes (R-Nashport), Don Jones (R-Freeport), Laura Lanese (R-Grove City), George Lang (R-West Chester), Jeff LaRe (R-Violet Township), David Leland (D-Columbus), Jessica Miranda (D-Forest Park), Jena Powell (R-Arcanum), Michael Sheehy (D-Oregon), Dick Stein (R-Norwalk), Reggie Stoltzfus (R-Paris Township), D.J. Swearingen (R-Huron), Nino Vitale (R-Urbana), Thomas West (D-Canton)

The panel will begin meeting remotely today. There will be guests each meeting from the business, manufacturing, retail, wholesale, services and recreational sectors to discuss their experience and brainstorm ways to rebound Ohio’s job market once COVID-19 has ran its course.

The panel will meet remotely via teleconferencing and videoconferencing during this time of social distancing.

Category: Government

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.