Local resident honored for support at county fair

| January 21, 2016

DSC_0099REYNOLDSBURG – Fifty-four individuals or organizations were recognized at the 91st Ohio Fair Managers Association annual convention at the Greater Columbus Convention Center for outstanding service to their local fairs. Of this group, six received the Director’s Award for Innovation and Excellence for their progressive ideas and actions to improve and strengthen their fairs. Ohio Department of Agriculture Director David T. Daniels presented each winner with a certificate. Those chosen for the special honor, denoted by an asterisk below, received plaques.

The award recipients were:

Adams County – Jack McCoy Family

Allen County – Allen County Sheriff’s Mounted Posse*

Ashland County – Jean Stauffer

Ashtabula County – Bob Spellman (posthumous) *

Attica Independent -Dennis Heiser and Thomas Willman

Auglaize County – Elizabeth Miller

Brown County – Joe Kovach

Clermont County – Greg Simpson

Columbiana County – Alan W. Cope

Coshocton County – Jim Overholt*

Crawford County – Robert Zaebst

Fayette County – Wayne Arnold

Franklin County – Gary Dever

Fulton County – Fulton County Jr. Fair Board

Gallia County – Janet Browning

Geauga County – Greg Thomas

Hamilton County – David (Joe) M. DaGiau

Hardin County – Bill and Connie Oates

Hartford Independent – Melvin McInturff (posthumous)

Henry County – Marilyn Hershberger

Hocking County – Scott Vermillion

Huron County – Richard Wiles

Jefferson County – Pat Ambler

Lake County – Lake County Fair Ladies Auxiliary

Logan County – Errol Snapp

Lorain County – Tim Buchs*

Madison County – Madison County Jr. Fair Sale Committee

Mahoning County – Donald Snyder, Jr.

Marion County – Larry Demorest

Medina County – Charles “Charlie” Siman

Mercer County – Robin Link

Miami County – Randy and Paul Wheaton

Monroe County – Tim Price, Carl Davis and John Pyles

Montgomery County – Betty Wingerter

Muskingum County – John Morrow (posthumous)

Preble County – Rob Morgan

Putnam County – Marge Knueven*

Ross County – James M. Caldwell

Shelby County – Tim Everett

Stark County – Darrell Zantene

Summit County – Ronald  Papes

Trumbull County – Paul G. Aaron (posthumous)

Tuscarawas County – Dave McCleary*

Warren County – Tari Maddox

Washington County – Paul Barth and Richard Henthorn

Wayne County – Mary Ann and James L. Marty

Williams County – Gertrude Studer

Ohio’s 94 county and independent fairs and the Ohio State Fair support the local economy and help educate the public about the importance of agriculture and the many necessities it provides, including food, clothing, shelter, fuel and energy. In addition to setting and approving the dates for the independent and county fairs, the department is responsible for helping to assure the safety of amusement rides, for monitoring livestock shows to help assure honest competition, and for coordinating animal health efforts with designated local veterinarians.

For more information on Ohio’s fairs, including a listing of fair dates for the 2016 season, visit www.agri.ohio.gov.

Tags: ,

Category: People & Places

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.