Ohio Girl Scout councils to rally legislators around the ‘State of the Girl’

| October 23, 2013

As Girl Scouts boldly enters its second century of building girls of courage, confidence and character, four Ohio Girl Scout councils are rallying women legislators this week to advocate for issues affecting girls and young women. To kick off this effort, the four Ohio Girl Scout Councils will host a “State of the Girl” forum at the Ohio Statehouse on Wednesday, Oct. 30. Ohio’s 32 women legislators will be pinned as members of the Ohio Honorary Girl Scout Legislative Troop #1912, during the event.

Girl Scouts’ legislative focus encompasses: Promoting girls’ physical, social and emotional health; increasing girls’ involvement in science, technology, engineering and math; advancing the cause of girls in leadership; and strengthening their access to educational opportunities. Ohio Honorary Girl Scout Legislative Troop #1912 will serve as an advocate for girls and young women in those areas and help educate branches of Ohio government about the issues and barriers that hinder girls and young women from opportunities to excel. Serving as co-chairs of the troop are State Representative Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville) and Senator Shirley Smith (D-Cleveland).

“Our Girl Scout Councils are dedicated to informing and educating all branches of our state government about the challenges Ohio’s girls face and lobbying for increased resources,” said Tammy Wharton, chief executive officer of Girl Scouts of Ohio’s Heartland Council. “We’re proud of the partnership we’re establishing with Troop #1912 and the commitment they’ve made to help Girl Scouts address issues important to girls and Girl Scouting on a state level. We’re looking forward to the strides they’ll make on behalf of Ohio’s best and brightest future leaders.”

Girl Scouts of Ohio’s Heartland Council, headquartered in Columbus, serves more than 32,000 girls and more than 9,000 adult members and volunteers in 30 counties: Adams, Ashland, Coshocton, Crawford, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Knox, Licking, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Muskingum, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Richland, Ross, Scioto, Union, Vinton, Wayne and Wyandot.

Tags: ,

Category: Clubs & Organizations

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.