Ridgewood board reports on COVID Relief Funds

| December 16, 2020

The Ridgewood Local Board of Education met in regular session with all members present on Dec. 14. A moment of silence was observed in memory of Kate Shivers a loyal and loved member of the Ridgewood School District family who recently passed away. Congratulations were given to the Ridgewood Elementary School for being recognized by the State of Ohio as a School of Honor with High Progress. A plaque will be displayed at the school’s wall of honor.

Jay Tingle, district treasurer gave a report on the CRF (COVID Relief Funds). The Ridgewood Local School District received $20,000 as part of the broadband connectivity program. It has been used to upgrade the district internet services and provide hot spots for students to take home in areas where internet is not easily accessible. The treasurer’s report was given and approved. ACA rates were established at 9.83% of the Mainland Federal Poverty Line beginning January 2021.  Donations were accepted from Wiley’s Finest for $500 and Jason Bradford for $50 to the athletic department. A resolution was passed accepting the amounts and rates determined by the budget commission authorizing the necessary tax levies and certifying them to the county auditor totaling 33.40 mills for $3,990,269.

Superintendent Mike Masloski recommended the following personnel actions that were approved by the board: Classified subs – Tyler Bardall, Kyle Bethel and Zackary Cantrell effective Dec. 1. 2020; student teachers – Tyler Bardall with Jamie McCrea at RHS, Macy McAdams K-12 with Robin Hire, and Kyle Bethel at RMS with Chris McVay and Alex Mullen. Kyle Bethel resigned as RMS co-head wrestling coach and was hired as the RMS wrestling coach. The board approved the recommendations of the records committee as presented.

The next board meeting will be held Thursday, Jan. 7, 2021 at Ridgewood Elementary School with the following schedule:  FY 2022 budget meeting at 6 p.m.; organizational meeting at 6:10 p.m.; finance meeting at 6:35 p.m.; and regular board meeting at 6:45 p.m. President Pro Tem Frank Mathews will preside.

Category: Education

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.