Ridgewood school board discusses numerous contracts

| May 17, 2017

WEST LAFAYETTE – The Ridgewood Local School Board of Education met in regular session with all members present. The meeting was called to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was given. Minutes of the April 24 finance meeting and regular meeting were approved.

Commendations and congratulations were given to the following:

  • Colton Bethel a graduating senior, was present to be recognized with a Letter of Congratulations for winning districts in wrestling from Bryan Gray, House of Representatives District 72, Legislative Aide. Bethel has wrestled for Ridgewood throughout junior high and high school. This year he was a state qualifier placing fifth in 106 lb., IVC Wrestler of the year, first team IVC and All Ohio wrestler. He will be attending college at Alderson Broddus in West Virginia this fall.
  • Johanna Mizer who placed 22nd out of the top 48 drivers at the Ohio State School Bus Rodeo.
  • Jennifer Shanks, Ridgewood Elementary and Middle School Music teacher was the recipient of the Business and Professional Women’s Joan McNeely Working Woman Scholarship.

Executative Session was held with resident Tony Griffith.  No action was taken.

Returning to regular session the following actions were taken:

  • The treasurer’s report was given and approved.
  • The superintendent’s report was given and approved with the following actions:
    • Substitute teacher list
    • Classified contracts for two years given to: Reva Untied, Dean Wears, Kathy Wright, Paul Taylor and Ron Berkshire. One year contracts given to: Kim Baker, Melissa Bluck, Darcy Brickles and Felicia Hunter.
    • Certified contracts for three years were given to: Leslie Dulgar, Haley Evans, Travis Simmons, John Lindig and Dawn Ward. Two year contracts were awarded to: Hannah Addy, Wendy Croy, Stacy Ionno, Chad Lahna, Sara McCurdy, Kayla Miller, Tracy Neal, Jenny Olinger, and Dusty Shroyer. One year contracts were awarded to: Sam Carpenter, Chad Carroll, Devon Duling, Rachel Endlich, Autumn Hendershot, Matt Humphrey, Brenda McCoy, Christopher McVay, Jennifer Shank, Thad Youngen, and Katie Bond.  New hire one year probation year to  Alex Preston.
    • Resignation was accepted from Katie Bond RMS Intervention Specialist effective Aug. 15.
    • Voluntary transfers for the 2017-2018 school year were approved for the following: Debbie Hill, first shift RES custodian; Paul Taylor, second shift RES custodian; Cathy Cutshall, first shift RHS custodian; Ron Berkshire, second shift RHS custodian; Kim Babcock, cook RES; Marilyn Bates, RES aide; Marla Farver, head cook RHS; and Heather Wilson, second shift RHS custodian.
    • Supplemental contracts were given to: Lester McCurdy, head girls basketball coach; Thad Youngen, head wrestling coach; Sue Davis, RHS girls JV basketball coach; Steffinee Powers, seventh grade girls basketball coach; D J Bradford, RHS JV volleyball coach;  Steffinee Powers, eighth grade volleyball coach; Brenda McCoy, eighth grade girls basketball coach.
    • Volunteers approved: Kerrie Bahmer, RHS girls basketball and RHS volleyball; Erica Olinger, RHS girls basketball; and Chelsea Patterson, RHS volleyball.
    • Interagency Agreement with Coshocton County Family and Children First Council; Union Hospital agreement for Athletic Trainer for 2017-2018 school year; Strategic Solutions for document Imaging software service; Agreement with MT Business Technologies and US Bank Leasing for the district’s copiers;  FMLA leave for District Employee May 1 to end of current school year; Calamity Day alternative Make-up Plan for 2017-2018 school year; Approved tentative list of graduating seniors for May 28, 2017; SUV purchase;  SUV sealed bid for 2001 GMC Yukon; Approed final reading of board policies and procedures as presented.
    • Approved Keith Leindecker and Tommy Layman for summer employment pending required documentation.

There also was discussion concerning HB 410 and its potential effect on public schools that involves student truancy. A task force had been initiated to address the potential changes to the school district policies.

New business items included the following approvals:

  • Treasurer Jay Tingle’s contract from Aug. 1, 2018 to July 31, 2023
  • RHS Principal Todd Stoffer’s contract from Aug. 1, 2017 to July 31, 2018
  • RMS Principal Trista Claxon’s contract from Aug. 1, 2017 to July 31, 2020
  • RES Principal Lori Cabot’s contract from Aug. 1, 2017 to July 31 2020
  • Transportation/Maintenance Director Doug Patterson’s contract from Aug. 1, 2017 to July 31, 2020
  • Psychologist Joanna Seek’s contract from Aug. 1, 2017 to July 31, 2018
  • Special Education Coordinator Peggy Ball, 75 days Aug. 1, 2017 to July 31, 2018
  • Technology Director Shirley Smith’s contract amended from Aug. 1, 2015 to July 31, 201
  • RHS Assistant Principal Matt Colvin’s contract amended from Aug. 1, 2015 to July 31, 2018 with 3 percent pay increase effective Aug. 1, 2017.

The next regular board meeting will be Monday, June 19, at 8 p.m. in the administrative building at 301 S. Oak St.

Category: Education

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.