Central Ohio Technical College banner ad

CHS and RVHS joining MVL

| April 30, 2018

COSHOCTON – The Muskingum Valley League announced its expansion plan starting in 2020-21.

The Muskingum Valley League was formed in 1938 as a seven school league: New Concord, Malta-McConnelsville, Glouster, Crooksville, Caldwell, New Lexington, and Philo.  Prior to that, in 1930, it was the Big Five League: New Concord, Malta-McConnelsville, Glouster, Crooksville, and New Lexington.  Since 1938 the League has expanded five times to reach the current Muskingum Valley League: Crooksville, John Glenn, Maysville, New Lexington, Morgan, Philo, Sheridan, Tri-Valley, and West Muskingum.

The Muskingum Valley League is very rich in history and is a highly respected league. It has had a solid foundation and great leaders/member schools that have brought it to this point in time.

The league is pleased to announce the addition of three schools: Coshocton, Meadowbrook, and River View to bring the Muskingum Valley League to a 12-member league starting in 2020-2021.

“We formed an expansion committee in 2010 to start looking at options for expanding the league. The committee was very patient regarding their decision making. We covered many ideas over the past eight years to get to this announcement. The league is very strong and our administrators care about each member school,” Scott Welker, Muskingum Valley League Commissioner.

Tags: , , ,

Category: High School, Sports

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.