Central Ohio Technical College banner ad

Youth Leadership graduates class of 2018

| April 19, 2018

Contributed | Beacon

COSHOCTON – Coshocton County Youth Leadership held its 24th graduation ceremony for the class of 2018 on April 18, in the community room at Frontier Power.

It was a full house as friends and family members gathered to recognize the outstanding year of leadership demonstrated by our youth. Treated to presentations by the young philanthropists, audience members listened intently as the youth took turns at the podium to describe their Coshocton Foundation Trustee’s “Pay it Forward Project.”

Graduates of the Coshocton County Youth Leadership Class of 2018 include Coshocton High School members – Emily Jeffries; Alaina Lentz; Hannah Nelson and Madelyn Nelson; Ridgewood High School – Jarrett Brenneman; Keith Claxon; Justin Conner; Sophia Kobel and Alexis Prater; River View High School – Paige Bemiller; Kellyn Donaker, Coshocton County Career Center – Josie Fornara; Natalie Mickley; and Cydney Whiteus; as well as home-school member Olivia Ringenberg.

Executive Director Betsy Gosnell began the evening by welcoming guests and thanking funders for their support: The Coshocton Foundation; Dunmire Family Fund; Simpson Family Donor Advised Fund; and individual contributors. Mark Fortune, acting leadership board chair, welcomed audience members and congratulated the youth on their year of service and leadership, sharing a quote from John Maxwell, “If you could cultivate only one habit to practice every day of your life, I believe it should be this: giving more than you receive. I say that because having a giving mind-set has so many benefits: Giving acknowledges that others have helped us, giving requires us to get beyond ourselves, giving is by nature intentional and giving changes the world – one person at a time.” Fortune continues the sentiment, encouraging the youth to “Continue giving.” The graduating youth were awarded certificates of completion from Fortune, assisted by Bob Pell, executive director of the Coshocton Foundation and Gosnell. In addition, certificates of recognition were received from Governor John Kasich; Senator Jay Hottinger; Representative Larry Householder; and Congressman Bob Gibbs.

Distinguished guests of the event included Mayor Steve Mercer, and Safety Service Director Max Crown, City of Coshocton; and Bob Pell, executive director for the Coshocton Foundation; and Leadership Advisory Board Members Scott Frank; Mark Fortune and Kaycee Newell. Additionally, area school superintendents and principals were on hand to recognize the youth’s achievement: Dr. Dave Hire; Scott Loomis; Rick Raach; Dalton Summers; Jon Turnbull; Mike Masloski and Matt Colvin as well as guidance counselors Sarah Lindsey and Rose Olinger.

Gosnell closed the evening by stating this is not good-bye, but rather the beginning of a new chapter in the lives of the young leaders.

Coshocton County Youth Leadership (CCYL) is a program of the Coshocton Foundation and was developed as a project of the Leadership Coshocton County Class of 1994. It provides a basic foundation of leadership skills for high school students to build upon and assists in the development of communication skills and presents an opportunity to interact with community leaders and fellow participants.

Tags: , ,

Category: Clubs & Organizations, Multimedia, Photo Galleries

About the Author ()

Article contributed to The Beacon.

Comments are closed.